I am eating a bowl of cereal right now.  Er, let me rephrase that.  I am eating cereal right now.  (I’m not actually eating the bowl.) The cereal is Special K Vanilla Almond and it is yummy!  On the bottom of the box is the claim, “Lose up to 6 pounds in 2 Weeks” and while I know fad diets don’t produce lasting results, man, is it tempting!

People who look at me wouldn’t probably say I’m overweight.  I hide it well.  But I see myself in pictures and cringe. Is that really my neck?  When did I get that extra chin?  To top it all off, my best friends are super skinny and have given birth to more kids than me.  I really have no excuse.  I know my body type is not the same as theirs.  You’ve probably heard the comparisons of body types and fruit.  Those who tend to add inches to their middles are apples, people with really skinny waists but gain inches around their hips are pears, etc.  I am an apple.  I think my friends are carrots.  My husband recently read an article about weight loss and body type.  It basically said that if you are an apple, even if you lose weight you won’t look like a pear.  You’ll just be a smaller apple.  I’d love to be a smaller apple any day.

apple.jpg

I’m not that hung up on my weight.  I’m not that concerned about reaching a certain number on the scale.  I just want to feel better about my body and fit into all of the clothes in my closet from a few years ago.  Oh, and not feel super self-conscious this summer in a swim suit.  I’m not big on diets, but I know it’s going to take some effort to reach my health goals.  I recently read Bob Greene’s latest book, The Best Life Diet.  It seems like the most reasonable approach I have come across.  The basic idea is to step it up a notch when it comes to activity level, wherever that may be, stay hydrated, and eat healthy.  Seems simple enough, right?  Don’t we all know the right answers?  Then why is it so stinking hard to get in shape?

The Plan
I am officially turning the corner today.  (Guess that means I need to get rid of the bag of Cheetos sitting on my counter.)  I know what I need to do.  I just need to do it.  Why, you may ask, am I posting all of this on my blog?  Because I know myself well.  I need accountability.  So, here’s the plan.

WHO?
Me and whoever else wants to join me…so, possibly just me.

WHAT?
It has been said that it takes at least 21 days to form a new habit.  I’d like to develop the habit of exercise and healthy eating.  I shall call it, (intro cool music and drumroll) The Great Loss Challenge.  We’ll call it this because while some may be interested in losing actual weight, others may focus on loss of inches or fitting into clothes differently.

HOW?
Every few days for the first 21 days of March, I’ll write a brief post about my progress regarding exercise and nutrition. You pick your own habit that you want to develop and track your progress in the comments of that post.

WHY?
Personal health, satisfaction, self-worth…the list goes on.

WHEN?
The Great Loss Challenge will start this Saturday, March 1.

Where?
Here.

Are You In?
If you are already in great shape but are looking to develop another new habit, feel free to jump on the bandwagon. It can be anything – a Bible study habit, a clutter control habit (I’ll do that one next), a character development habit…whatever.  For those of you who read Kat’s blog, yes, the 21 Day Challenge originated from her brilliance. This is the same idea but will focus more on nutrition and exercise.

Let me know if you have any questions, comments or suggestions.

I hope some of you will join me on this journey.  Are you in?

