diet_time2.jpg 

Yesterday was the first day of the Great Loss Challenge.  I was too busy exercising to post.  Sorry.  😉

My husband has decided to join me on this Great Loss Challenge, where for 21 days we aim to eat more sensibly, exercise more, and live healthier lives.  Our plan is that simple.  It has always been that simple. 

But somehow not very successful. 

So, to make things more interesting and hopefully more successful, we have decided to implement something to help us on our way.  His workplace recently held an in-house event called “Dump Your Plump”.  Lovely name, isn’t it?  Participants earned points for healthy choices.  The team with the most points won.  No prizes, just bragging rights.  

My husband and I are going to do something similar.  At the end of the 21 days, whoever has the most points will not only get bragging rights but will also get an entire Saturday “off.”  While we both adore our child, it’s nice to have a break every once in awhile.  It actually helps us be better parents in the long run.  For those of you who do not have children yet, this may not seem like a big deal.  Let me paint the picture.  I have not slept in since the day my daughter was born.  Not just an extra hour.  I’m talking really sleeping in.  Hasn’t happened since her birth.  The stakes are high, people. 

Here’s the breakdown:
     1 serving of fruit = 1 point
     1 serving of vegetables = 2 points
     every 16 oz. water = 2 points 
     every 10 minutes of exercise = 5 points

We weighted the points higher for those activities we tend to avoid, like exercise.  In addition, I plan on registering for a 5K race scheduled for this spring.  If I go ahead and pay for the registration now, I’m more likely to get myself moving to avoid wasting my money.  Whatever works, right?

If you have accepted the Great Loss Challenge, I hope things are going well.  Do you have a plan?  How was your first day?  If you would like to join us in our journey, let us know.  The more the merrier!