And now, for another edition of Music Monday, hosted by Kat
Today’s topic: Best Cover Songs.

I will admit it.  I didn’t know that a remake is called a cover song.  Please don’t hold it against me.  But now that I know the proper terminology, here are a few of my favorites:

1.  “Proud Mary” by Ike and Tina Turner/Creedance Clearwater Revival – You just can’t beat Tina Turner.
2.  “With a Little Help from My Friends” by Joe Cocker/The Beatles – Can’t decide which I like better.
3.  “Since U Been Gone” by Kelly Clarkson/Ted Leo – Didn’t even know it was a remake!
4.  “Easy (Like Sunday Morning)” by Faith No More/Commodores – Gimme some lovin’.
5.  “Respect” by Aretha Franklin/Otis Redding – Again, didn’t know it was a cover!
6.  “Come On Eileen” by Dexy’s Midnight Runners/Save Ferris – Oh, this one is a close one for me.  I like the original!
7.  “Drift Away” by Doby Gray/Uncle Kracker – Another close call.
8.  “The First Cut is the Deepest” by Sheryl Crow/Cat Stevens – Love Sheryl Crow.
9.  “You’ve Got a Friend” by James Taylor/Carol King – I like both versions. 
10.  “Red Red Wine” by UB40/Neil Diamond- Call me a child of the 80s, but you can’t beat the UB40 version!

BTW – My hub and I have a theory.  We think that whatever version of a song you hear first is the one you will like the most.  What do you think? 

