creative-chaos.jpg

Carlos of Ragamuffin Soul is hosting, Creative Chaos, where every Thursday people write a post on their blog about how creative elements are incorporated into their churches.

Let me first start off by saying how much I love my church.  I sometimes read blogging debates about the purpose of church, how the local church should or shouldn’t be, etc.  I read about how so many people are disgusted with their churches or the church in general, disallusioned and disheartened by the state of the church, and I think to myself, I wish you could come visit my church!  I know we’re not perfect, but there are a lot of good things happening.  I could go on, but I’ll spare you.

One of the things I love is the acceptance of arts as a form of worship to God.  One of the most recent expressions of this was the publication of an artistic journal.  In it contained poems, short stories, artwork and photography, all contributed by members of our congregation or missionaries on the field sent out by our church.  Every piece praised God in some way or expressed a heart of compassion for the lost and the nations of the world.  The magazine was professionally done and gave people who are truly artistic a pathway to share their gifts to God and to others.

Be sure to check here to see what other churches are doing to incorporate creative arts into their services. 

To God be the glory!

