Kat asks us to share our music geneology today.  Sheesh, this is going to date me, but I l-o-v-e-d this music!

I honestly don’t remember the first record I purchased.  It may have been Michael Jackson’s, Thriller, but I’m not positive.  Needless to say, the top artists for me during jr. high school were Amy Grant, Sandy Patti, Michael W. Smith, Van Halen and the Steve Miller Band.  Yes, I know, strange combination.  But there you have it.  My mother was quite disturbed when she found my Van Halen Jump! cassette tape.  I listened to a lot of Amy, Sandy, and Michael, but since there were no good Christian radio stations, I got my fair share of pop music on KHTR 103.3 FM.  Oh, the 80s.

The year 1984 was great for music.  Great from the perspective of a teenager, that is. 

Here are some of the top songs from one of the top years:
1.  Footloose, Kenny Loggins
2.  Hello, Lionel Richie
3.  Karma Chameleon, Culture Club
4.  Let’s Hear It for the Boy, Deniece Williams
5.  Dancing in the Dark, Bruce Springstein
6.  Hold Me Now, Thompson Twins
7.  Say It Isn’t So, Daryl Hall and  John Oats
8.  I Just Called to Say I Love You, Stevie Wonder
9.  Oh Sherrie, Steve Perry
10.  Drive, Cars

Recognize any of these? 

And one of my favorite 80s songs of all time, Shout, by Tears for Fears.  Apparently, Tears for Fears is still around and going strong semi-strong since this video is from 2006.  Gotta love it.

Alright, children of the 80s, it’s confessional time.  What were your favorite songs from this decade? 

Be sure to check out The Secret Life of Kat to see everyone else’s music geneology and to share yours, as well!

