This morning, I read a post on My Friend Amy’s blog about last night’s episode of American Idol.  I left a comment and before I knew it, had typed enough to compose my own post.  So, copy, paste, edit, publish.

Oh, Ramiele.  Why would she choose this song?  Especially when she’s not feeling well.  I actually do remember the Carrie Underwood performance, which says a lot since it was a few years back.  I think sweet pea is going home, sick or not.

I actually liked Jason.  I think that the people who like his style will like what he does every week, as long as he doesn’t pick a loser song.  I just wish he would open his mouth more when he peforms.  It’s awkward how he sings sometimes.

I really like Brooke‘s voice, but she seems awkward to me sometimes.  It’s like she doesn’t quite know what to do.  I actually liked it better when the rest of the band finally came in, but I guess the judges thought otherwise. 

Michael.  I’m sure if I was in the audience, I would have been blown away.  The band was rockin’, the lights were crazy.  It was probably awesome!  Listening to it on television while sitting on my couch, however… I wasn’t really that blown away.  I thought it was way better than what he has done previously, but I thought the beginning was way awkward.  Very wordy.

David A.  Well, I didn’t know the song.  But what I liked about it was that it seemed like he really believed what he was saying.  I notice that he tries to pick songs he can get behind (most of the time) and sing from his heart.  So, while I thought it was a bit corny, I also thought he was sincere and I liked it.  He just is so young!

Kristy was very smart in her song choice tonight.  I don’t know whether or not she was trying to be clever, but clever it was.  It’s a powerful song, but I have to confess, I have heard that song performed at a theme park.  So, it’s a tough one for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I support our troops, I love our country, etc… just not a huge fan of the song itself.  I bet the judges were thinking to themselves, “Oh great.  This girl should have gone home weeks ago, but now I have to be P.C.  Dear God, please don’t let me put my foot in my mouth…please don’t let me put my foot in my mouth…”

David C.  WOW!!  WOW!!  When he first started singing, I recognized the lyrics, but couldn’t place the melody.  I said to my hub, “I like this song, but what is it?”  I thought he was AMAZING, and I have not been a huge fan of his.  Until now! 

In fact, let’s watch that again, shall we?

That was just good, even the second time!  Okay, back to the rest of the review… 

Chikezie, Syesha, Carly… don’t really remember them.  That probably says something.

My picks for bottom three?  Ramiele, Chikezie and maybe… I really don’t know who else.  What do you think?

Sidenote:  It totally cracks me up how one week they give advice and then another week, they give the complete opposite advice.  What’s a girl to do?  Bring in the band.  Don’t bring in the band.  Stick to the melody.  Take a risk and don’t just stick to the melody.  No wonder the contestants have such a tough time sometimes!

Another sidenote:  I felt very old while watching last night’s show.  Choose a song from the year you were born and we heard Total Eclipse of the Heart???  Wasn’t that like 1983?  I would have had to pick Killing Me Softly or Tie a Ribbon ‘Round the Old Oak Tree.  I think those are considered Oldies now.  I feel old.  Some say that old is a state of mind.  I think I’ve crossed the border!

