I have decided to use my blog as a journal of sorts. I have used journals over the years to record sermon notes, write to God, etc. But I need a place that I can quickly access those things without having to find the box with the journals from 10 years ago. Below are notes from a sermon on 8.17.08.

I want to know Christ and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of sharing in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, and so, somehow, to attain to the resurrection from the dead. Philippians 3:10-11

The word, “know” in the above passage refers to an intimate relationship like no other. Do I truly want to know God?

Live Simply
It’s time to simplify. A lack of options is easier sometimes. Do I give myself options? It’s not wrong to want or have “more”. If “more” allows you to love God more, then it’s okay. If not, “more” may not be better.
Simple living means, “JESUS FIRST”.
Yes to prayer – no to sleep.
Yes to giving – no to hording.
Yes to boldness – no to fear.
Yes to blessing – no to criticizing.
Yes to grace – no to cynicism.

Work Diligently
Diligence is consistently applying yourself to what you know God told you to do. Be faithful.

The plans of the diligent lead to profit as surely as haste leads to poverty.
Proverb 21:5

We need accountability to be diligent to that which God has called us to. Help me, God! A “kingdom agenda” will provide the motivation. Live for more than yourself. We need vision and purpose – without it, you are a SLUGGARD! (Prov. 6:6-11) Take initiative. do what you need to do without being told to do it. Do you want to know Christ? How badly?

Give Generously
Honor God with everything that you are – yourself and your wealth. (Prov. 3:5-10) Give your life away – this may mean your time, your possessions, your attention, your money, etc. Be led by the Holy Spirit. Hear Him and be obedient. Start with generosity. Don’t end with it.

